Biblical Principals, God, God's Sovereignty, God's Will, God's Word, Obedience, Truth

Directions

Here’s an old church riddle.

Why did the Jews wander around in the desert for forty years?directions

Because they never would stop and ask directions.

I am directionally handicapped. Not “challenged”. Handicapped.

I get lost in Walmart’s parking lot. I get lost in my neighborhood. I can’t count the times I’ve had to stop driving to ask directions. I no longer drive to a new destination without my GPS. Sometimes I need it when I’m driving where I’ve been before.

I get lost most often when I think I know where I’m going. My wife usually has to bail me out and get us there.

Getting where I’m supposed to go will always be a challenge. Isn’t that the way it is with our walk of faith at times? That’s sure a challenge for me. I can’t count the times I’ve taken my own route without asking God for directions.

I suppose that’s why He says in Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.

And in Psalm 32:8

I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go. I will counsel you with my loving eye on you.

God’s sense of direction is perfect. I need to trust God’s Positioning System (GPS) when I need directions.

One thought on “Directions

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.