Fear Of Faith

Though He slay me; yet will I trust Him. Job:13:15

Some of us, at times, I think, are afraid of faith. Trusting God to handle some situations seems pointless or hopeless. I think the reason we sometimes hesitate to trust Him, at least for me, is that we fear what our complete trust in God might mean for us.

What if trusting God completely meant losing our job? Or moving to Argentina? Or giving up our home? Or losing a child to severe mental illness? Would we still be willing to trust God with the outcome? Job was.

Job was a righteous man. God allowed Satan to do anything he wanted except mess with his life. Satan turned up the heat. Job lost everything. His wife told him to curse God and die. His friends tormented him. They tried to convince Job his sin caused all his suffering.

What many of us fail to realize about genuine faith is that trusting God for the outcome always brings us blessings. God’s ways are better than our ways. (from Isaiah 55) We fail to remember that God’s plan for us is absolutely the best plan for our lives. He is going to work everything our for our good (Romans 8:28), even if it means our trials seem, as we go through them, crippling and devastating.

But by faith we eagerly await through the Spirit the righteousness for which we hope. Galatians 5:5
God is a rewarder of those who diligently seek (trust) Him. Hebrews 11:6 (parentheses mine).
The Bible says “…and the Lord restored all Job’s losses.(Job 41:10). “…the Lord blessed the latter days of Job’s life more than his beginning. (v 41:12).
Our steadfast faith, regardless of our circumstances or the seeming severity of our trials, always honors God and God always rewards us for our persistent, enduring faith.
Though He slay me, yet will I trust Him.
7 thoughts on “Fear Of Faith

  1. Praise God for hindsight. When we look back on our lives, and see areas where we thought at the time that God had made a mistake, we can very clearly see that God used those times of despair to “grow” us and give us the victory.

    Like

  2. Oh how I love this, Steven! We did a show recently titled “Gods plan is Tailor Made for you”, it’s the first show that I’ve put music too and after the show is posted, I will reblog this post. I love how much we Jesus freaks think alike and at the same time!

    Like

  3. Recently Rick Warren (Forty Days Of Purpose) lost his son to suicide. He has been publically grieving in his church. He was on CNN with his wife and I was so impressed by his response to a question when he was asked… “Do you question your faith in God now that this has happened?” Without missing a beat he replied. “I’ve never questioned my faith in God but I have questioned His plan for my life.”
    I think that was an honest answer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

