Mr. Smith Has Left The Building

Even Mr. Smith found it almost impossible to function honestly in Washington. Mr. Smith wasmr smith really Jimmy Stewart, who played the part of a freshman Senator in the 1939 Frank Copra movie, Mr. Smith Goes To Washington.

Stewart won an Oscar for his portrayal of the naive lawmaker who refused to cave into the corrupt political machine of his day. Mr. Smith had a conscience. He would not compromise his principles or his ethics or his values. He was an honest politician.

Today, “honest politician” is an oxymoron. Like “political correctness” or “government intelligence“.

I listened to a news story on Christian radio recently about a survey taken among women. Don’t know the demographic, or anything about the survey except the results. The survey asked woman who they trusted most. According to the news story the women surveyed trusted their doctor the most. The doctor was followed by family, then friends as the ones women in the survey trusted most. At the bottom of the list, the ones women in the survey trusted least, were politicians.

Gee! Me too!

Who can you trust today? I’ve been thinking lately about folks who don’t know Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior. Who would they depend on in a crisis? Who would they turn to for help, for comfort, for support? Who would walk along side them, to “be there” for them in their hour of need when they really needed a trustworthy friend?

Certainly not a politician. Isn’t it ironic that one of the few, if not the only, honest government politician was an actor pretending to be honest and trustworthy in a movie?

Thank you, Jesus, that I can always trust you. I know that no matter what, you will always be there for me.

Mr. Smith. We miss you. Will you ever run for reelection?

This entry was posted in God, God's Sovereignty, Grace, Love, Peace, Righteousness, Surrender, Truth and tagged , , , , , , by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

Leave a Reply

