The Folded Napkin At The Tomb

What an amazing revelation of Scripture for me. WOW!

I’ve read the story of the resurrection a hundred times, but never paid attention to John 20:7. A dear friend sent me an exposition of the verse and gave the resurrection of Jesus vivid new meaning and validation to me.

I always enjoy Scripture more when I understand the Jewish cultural, historical or archeological significance of the day. When Mary and the disciples came to the empty tomb Resurrection morning they found the grave cloths “laying there.” But the napkin from his head was separate and folded next to the linens.

In Jesus’ day when the master finished eating a meal, he wiped his hands and mouth and beard and tossed the linens on the table. The servant knew to clean up the table and remove the soiled linens.

But if the servant saw the napkin neatly folded on the table, he knew not to touch anything. According to Jewish custom, the folded napkin meant the master was coming back.

Peter then came out with the other disciple, and they went toward the tomb. They both ran, but the other disciple outran Peter and reached the tomb first; and stooping to look in, he saw the linen cloths lying there, but he did not go in. Then Simon Peter came, following him, and went into the tomb; he saw the linen cloths lying, and the napkin, which had been on his head, not lying with the linen cloths but rolled up in a place by itself. John 20:3-7 RSV

Thank you, Ronn King, for sharing this awesome revelation with me.

6 thoughts on “The Folded Napkin At The Tomb

    • I thought the folded napkin was such a wonderful insight God allowed me to see. He is so incredibly awesome. Thank you for your comment. And thanks again for visiting FHG. I hope you’ll return soon. God bless.

      Like

  1. Yes! Understanding the customs of the day add so much to the state of our hearts. Ever since learning this custom I fold my dinner napkin with purpose wondering if perhaps my hosts also are aware of the meaning of the custom! Thank you for sharing the post and reminding us of the importance of knowing the deeper meanings of the written word.

    Like

    • Jeannie, thank you so much for your comments. I learned an interesting Jewish custom that lit up John 14:1-3 about the Father’s house and many mansions. Are you familiar with that custom? I am going to write about that one soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

