More, More, More!

We are a consuming people.

Last year we bought 15 million cars and trucks. This year we’ll eat more than $3.5 billion Snickers and seven billion hotdogs. 150 million during the 4th of July weekend.

Economists tell us to make the economy strong we need to get more. Buy more, sell more, spend more, do more, go more, borrow more. Then we’ll all be prosperous.

Someday I’d like to meet the Joneses. They must be richer than Bill Gates. Everybody’s trying to keep up with them. I wonder who the Joneses try to keep up with.

Jesus knew the perils of more-more-more thinking. He said,

“…it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for someone who is rich to enter the kingdom of God.”Matthew 19:24.

We have created a more-more-more lifestyle. Advertisers persuade us we must have more features, more choices, more sizes, more options, more stuff. So we can convince our neighbors and friends we have more mammon than they do.

Jesus said,

“No one can serve two masters; for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and mammon (wealth) Matthew 6:24

The choice is mine. And yours. Will we live each day wanting more-more-more? Serving mammon? Or will we believe God, serve Him and enjoy everything we will ever need in Him?

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

Leave a Reply

