An Uncaring Father

Nicole was quiet. She was pretty and well-mannered. She had a few friends and got along with her classmates.

I have not seen Nicole since I taught her in my eighth grade English class.

One day during a conference with her mom, she said Nicole had not seen or spoken to her dad in seven years.

“That’s awful,” I said. “Does he live out-of-state?”

“No,” her mom said. “He lives two miles away from us.”

I couldn’t speak. I groped for words. Nicole lived day-to-day wondering why her dad was uncaring. He had a new wife and family, her mom said. But he never bothered to have any kind of relationship with his only daughter.

I wonder what Nicole thinks about God today. I wonder if she knows God, or ignores God and doesn’t care about Him. If she didn’t care about God today, I wouldn’t blame her. I can certainly understand why kids growing up with absentee fathers like Nicole’s think God is uncaring.

Those kids are a mission field white for the harvest.

Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord. Ephesians 6.
This entry was posted in Friendship, God, God's Sovereignty, Grace, Grace / Mercy, Home, Life, Love, Truth and tagged , , , , , by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

Leave a Reply

