…you are free from the law of sin and death

the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has set you free from the law of sin and death. Romans 8:2

Until Christ died on the cross for our sins, we were under obligation to the law to define who we were. But Christ’s death on the cross set us free from the law and the bondage of performance based acceptance (like we find in religion today). Christ’s death on the cross gave birth to the age of God’s grace.

Our identity doesn’t come from what we do or how we act. We behave badly and sin sometimes. Our identity, however, comes from our identification as children of God. We have been adopted into God’s family and are now and forever legitimate sons and daughters of Almighty God. Nothing or no one can or will ever change that. The do’s and don’t’s of the world mean nothing to us. We never have to fear death, because we will never die. We are free from death forever.

This entry was posted in If You Are In Christ . . . and tagged , , , , , by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

Leave a Reply

