What Self-Help Books Don’t Tell You

Marketdata Enterprises, Inc., a leading independent market research publisher claims folks bought $11.17 billion (with a “b”) worth of self-help books last year. The research agency predicts more than a five percent increase in sales this year.

That tells me millions of people are trying to get it right, figure out life, uncover the secret to a fulfilling life, discover their purpose in life, find happiness, peace and joy.

If you read every self-help book, and follow every piece of advice, and it all works for you, the most you can get is momentary happiness, fleeting peace, short-lived success, temporary joy.

Who am I really? What is my purpose in life? Why am I here?  People try hard to get it right. To be a great father or the best mom. The best spouse. The most valuable employee. The best friend.

If we ever “arrive” we don’t stay long. The best the world has to offer ends. Or changes. Or disappoints us. Or falls apart. So we get discouraged. We lose hope. Over and over. We ask those same questions” Who am I really? What is my purpose in life? Why am I here?

There is only one right answer to all those questions. Just one word.

Jesus.

Jesus.
“I am the way, the truth and the life.”

Jesus.
“Come to me all ye who are labor and are heavy laden and I will give you rest.”

Jesus.
“I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.”

Jesus.
“I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

Jesus.             Jesus.           Jesus.
He is the Only answer to any and all of life’s probing questions.
This entry was posted in God and tagged , , , , , by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

Leave a Reply

