Can You Lose Your Salvation?

I’ve never understood why losing your salvation was ever a debate. I heard a pastor this week say those who think they can lose their salvation are held captive by a lie. They are in bondage to the evil one.

Unfortunately I know good church-going, God-believing people who believe they can lose their salvation. I asked one of them once how they expected to get their salvation back. Their response was, “That’s between you and God. ” I didn’t understand that one either.

Another friend who believes you can lose your salvation told me the way to get it back is with good works.

If a person can lose their salvation, and they think they can earn it back by good works, here’s a few questions for them:

  1. How many good works does it take to win back salvation?
  2. How long must a person do good works to win salvation back?
  3. What kind of good works?
  4. How will we know God accepts their works?
  5. When and how will salvation be granted again?
  6. Who will grant it?
  7. If I regain salvation, could I lose it again?

See the dilemma with this notion? Trying to regain salvation would be confusing and uncertain. You wouldn’t know what was ever good enough. You’d constantly wonder if your salvation was secure.

Not me. I’m going to believe God’s Word. The Bible teaches me I can never lose my salvation. I’m comfortable and secure with that.

8 thoughts on “Can You Lose Your Salvation?

  1. Excellent, Scott. We’re definitely on the same page. I talked to a believer who believed we can lose our salvation. I asked them, “How do you get it back if you lose it?” Their response was, “That’s between them and God.”

    Like

  2. I have never met anyone who says you can lose your salvation ever said they had lost it. But one pastor I know was honest enough to say that once lost you can never get it back (see Hebrews 6:4-6)

    Like

    • Interesting. I’d like to ask someone who believes you can lose your salvation if they’ve ever lost it. And how do they plan to get it back. Very interesting perspective and comment. Thanks.

      Like

      • Is It Possible to Lose Our Salvation?
        Good question…through His death, Jesus saved us all. But does that guarantee our free pass to eternity? Don’t we bear some responsibility here? I’m sure there are some pretty significant behavioral expectations tied to our ultimate salvation.

        Someone asked “can we lose our salvation?”
        If we continue going astray.
        Jesus died that we might all be saved
        But, is that gift a given we can take to our grave
        Or can it somehow be taken away?

        Is Christ’s death our ‘free pass’ to forever…?
        Blessed with a perpetual non-emptying cup.
        Once given…to be ungiven, never
        Or can we still screw this thing up?

        I liken that ‘free pass’ to a gift card of faith
        That we must activate before its blessings we tap.
        Until we call-in or go on-line…
        Authorization for use will be declined…
        A destination still awaiting a map.

        Salvation’s promise is accompanied by
        Expectations we’ll pursue God’s saving grace.
        Results disappoint when we fail to try…
        So, on Jesus, not self, choose to rely…
        Seek God’s eternal embrace…
        Make that call…activate your faith!

        So, should we ponder salvation’s permanency
        In light of the fact we’ll never not stray?
        Christ, through His death, assured we’ll be saved…
        And, if only we’ll try really hard to behave…
        Our Salvation is here to stay!

        In our destiny’s midst, we’re given a voice
        Being saved…Christ’s gift, Salvation…our choice!

        Like

  3. You can’t ever lose it . . but the question is . . . if you’re in a place questioning whether or not you’re losing it, maybe you never had it. Going to church every Sunday, for example, might make one think they are saved . . . if that’s all they do, they they will “lose it” because they never had it.
    So, I agree with you Steven . . one shouldn’t worry about losing their Salvation . . . they should be worrying about how they can “love their neighbor” more.

    Like

    • Amen, Stocksdoc, I know some who believe going to church and reading the Bible is all they need to be saved. Sad. I wonder how many others think they’ve got a ticket Home and really don’t. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

  4. Pingback: My Article Read (6-20-2014) | My Daily Musing

  5. As am I Steve. Whenever I’m talking to a supposed Bible believing Christian and he or she mentions that they believe we can lose our salvation, it causes me to look at them as a dog looks at an answering machine (HA!! dating myself) when it hears its master’s voice coming from the answering machine. The dog obviously recognizes the voice, but is clearly puzzled that it’s coming from THAT. I am puzzled when I hear works based salvation coming from THAT.

    As Paul so eloquently stated, the idea that righteousness comes by the law, is the very nullification of grace. You can’t have it both ways, it’s either by grace through faith as scripture teaches us (Eph 2:8-9), or it’s by the law ( ) as man likes to believe. Mankind loves to believe that he had some part in his salvation; it’s a sense of accomplishment for him. As Paul taught, if righteousness comes by the law, the cross is not only unnecessary, but it’s inconsequential to our salvation. If the cross were both unnecessary and inconsequential to our salvation and sanctification, then Jesus would not have admonished us to pick it up daily and follow Him.

    Gal 2:21 I do not nullify the grace of God, for if righteousness comes through the Law, then Christ died needlessly.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

