Fighting With My Flesh

When I try to get my needs met by relying on my own resources (without God) that’s called my “flesh”.  My unique brand of flesh evolved from the messages I received about myself from others growing up. The Bible says, and I can attest, that my flesh is constantly at war with my Spirit.

For the flesh desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the flesh. They are in conflict with each other. Galatians 5:17.

The battle is always about control. My self-will vs. God’s will for me. My limited resources vs. God’s infinite resources. Meeting my needs myself vs. allowing Jesus to live His life in me, through me and as me.

It’s a daily struggle. With every decision, every circumstance, every challenge I face I witness two outcomes. Either I take control and plow through my self efforts to meet my needs; or I allow God to work in me and I follow His leading and His direction.

With both outcomes I discover God’s ways are better than my ways.

Every time.

The times I insist on being in control, I mess up. The times I allow God to be in control, He handles it and the outcome is always a blessing for me and God gets the glory.

One thought on “Fighting With My Flesh

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (7-18-2014) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

