Gimme Gimme Gimme

I’ve been exploring my personal prayer life recently and, to be honest, I’m not happy with it. It seems as if I’m slipping into a malaise of ineffective prayer time. It seems as if my prayers have become like a “gimme, gimme, gimme” laundry list of things I want God to do for me.

Today I asked myself, “When was the last time you simply praised God? Honored Him just to be honoring Him? Looked up and just thanked Him for being God and loving me?”

Sad to say, I couldn’t remember. So at that moment I looked up into His face and thanked God for being my Father and Creator and First love of my heart.

Don’t we slip into that malaise sometimes? Don’t our prayers sound more like, “Gimme, gimme, gimme” and less like adoration, confession and thanksgiving?

When Jesus taught His disciples to pray, He told them to begin with, “Our Father, who are in heaven hollowed be thy name.” Honoring God first, adoring God first, praising God first, recognizing His authority and His sovereignty first.

I need to remember that.

2 thoughts on “Gimme Gimme Gimme

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (7-22-2014) | My Daily Musing

  2. I think that is true for all of us at some point or another. How many times have I told people that I would pray for them and then forgot in the chaos of the day? Do I always go back and thank God when He answers my prayers? (whether I like the answer or not) Do I remain in awe of the One who knows no bounds? Sigh…..I know what you mean.

    Like

Leave a Reply

