Dear John Letter

Editor’s Note: A good friend and follower commented on a recent post he was concerned about losing our freedoms in this country. He asked me to share my thoughts with him.  After I replied I thought this might be a good time to share my thoughts on the future with you. Enjoy.

Dear John,

Thank you for your continued support of my blog posts. I appreciate all my readers, especially those like yourself who take the time to write comments. I hear your heart.

You wrote me awhile back asking for my input on your concerns about us losing our freedoms in this country. Here is my perspective.

I am in love with Jesus and am devoted to glorifying His name in all I do. I am opinionated, as you well know, and apt to share my opinions, even if they step on some toes now and again.

I pray about my blog posts and, most of the time I wait for God to give me my subjects, and my text before I post. I can truly say that most of what you read that I write on FHG comes directly from God as He speaks to my heart.

I used to get angry at emails and articles I saw. I used to seethe when I read about the horrible injustices in society and government today. I promised to write letters to Congressmen and companies I thought were trampling on our liberties just to make more money. I detested the ACLU for what they accomplished. I cussed Planned Parenthood and bemoaned liberal media.

But God is showing me that my efforts and energy and emotions expended on the horrible, negative anti-God stuff swirling around us in society are misguided and futile. His desire for me is to love the Lord my God with all my heart and my neighbor as myself. Last week I published a post called, “My Sincere Apology To Gays.” Here’s a bit of the text from that post:

God is love. If I’m to be a true disciple of Christ, I must love “whosoever” lands in my sphere of influence. Just like Jesus did. That includes gays, Muslims, White Supremists, teenagers, undocumented immigrants,  hypocrites, atheists, my enemies, prostitutes and non-believers. . . .Whosoever.

Am I a flaming liberal? No. But I don’t consider myself a dyed-in-the-wool conservative anymore either. No matter what happens, I know God is in control. It’s His plan for me and for us all that will succeed, no matter who does what to whom. I have never been more confident of God’s sovereignty in my life than I am today.

I’ll tell you what God has done for me. He’s helped me rest. He’s helped me trust in Him and His plan for me. Not the government, not the military, not the Republicans or Democrats, or Congress or the Supreme Court, or Burger King. I am hopeful for the future. I am expecting God to do marvelous things in my life and in our church. I’m trusting more and more in Him. And it’s made all these causes and threats to our freedoms and our world pale in comparison to the love God keeps showing me every day. It’s a great day in America. God is on the throne. And I’m at peace with whatever happens, because God’s in charge of it all and He will receive all the glory.

 

3 thoughts on “Dear John Letter

    • I’m glad you caught that. It was tongue and cheek on my part, but after living with three teenagers I couldn’t resist the inclusion. Thanks. Ya gotta laugh at them, right?

      Like

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (7-31-2014) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

