The Other Shoe

Before I learned my true identity in Christ, I didn’t know the True God. And I didn’t feel like His child.

I envisioned God as our Heavenly Father, creator of all things. I believed He loved me, but I thought His love and acceptance depended on my behavior.

I believed His blessings were rewards for my good deeds, e.g. teaching Sunday School, singing in the choir.

But I also believed He kept track of my sins (and back in the day there were plenty of them). So when I was not living in obedience, I walked around waiting for the other shoe to drop. Waiting for God to say, “I don’t like what you’re doing, so take this.” Whack! Because I was living in disobedience, God couldn’t be pleased with me. I would have to do a bunch of good things so He would accept me.

Eventually I learned God was nothing like what I believed.

I am so grateful today for God’s unconditional love. I know now I am fully accepted as His precious child no matter what my behavior. I know that He will never leave me nor forsake me. My love for God grows every day.

3 thoughts on “The Other Shoe

    • “Okay, now I have taken my first sip of coffee. Funny how that can clear my head like Xanax can for other people.

      Smile.” Love it. Sounds like we might be on the same page here sometimes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

