No

For some folks “No” is the single most difficult word to say.

Jesus teaches in Matthew 5:37,

“Let your yes be yes and your no be no.”

We say “yes” easily. Sometimes when we mean to say “no,” we still say “yes”.

For years I kept saying “yes” to folks when I should have been saying “no”. Too many commitments meant too few accomplishments. Over-commitment is an enemy of humility and stewardship. It disrupts fellowship with God.

All those years playing an over-committed, people-pleasing Christian, I feared people would not accept me if I said no. I equated more works with more acceptance from people and more favor from God.

Today, thank God, I am learning what healthy boundaries are and how to set them. And I’m learning that if I say “no” sometimes, the sun will still come up tomorrow.

One thought on “No

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (8-26-2014) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

