How Bad Can It Get?

The world is a pretty rebellious, godless place. Our country is flushing down the same toilet.

How bad can it get before God says, “Enough!”?

Some of my second-amendment friends believe being prepared means arming themselves to the teeth with weapons.

I prefer to stockpile oil.

In Matthew 25, Jesus tells the parable of the ten maidens:

“Five maidens were foolish, and five were wise. When the foolish took their lamps, they took no oil with them; but the wise took flasks of oil with their lamps.” Matthew 25:2-4

In the parable when the Bridegroom went into the wedding He invited the maidens with flasks of oil to join Him. But He shut out the maidens who brought no extra oil. He told them He never knew them.

Oil often represented the Holy Spirit in Jesus’ day. Both groups had oil, but five didn’t have extra oil. Jesus called them foolish. Both groups knew oil was important. Could the difference between the wise and foolish maidens be their relationship with the Bridegroom?

Maybe foolish ones have only an intellectual knowledge of Scripture. They know the Bible but not the Lord of the Bible. Maybe Jesus is just an acquaintance to the foolish and not a true friend. Faith needs to go deeper than doctrine.

How much oil is necessary to reserve a seat at the wedding?

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

3 thoughts on “How Bad Can It Get?

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (9-2-2014) (9-3-2014) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

