Feeling My Heart Beat

My good blogging buddy Butch Dean posted this Tuesday on his blog site Wordsmith’s Desk.

“I came to listen and in the quiet…I heard the beating of my

heart.”

Find a time when your movements and thoughts can cease; “The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.” (Psalm 23:1)

…when your heart and soul can rest; “He maketh me to lie down in green pastures;… (Psalm 23:2)

…when everything is as it should be; “…He leadeth me beside the still waters.” (Psalm 23:2)

…when you can hear the beating of your heart. “He restoreth my soul…”(Psalm 23:3)

It reminded me of my open heart surgery in 2011. Lying awake on those early post opheartbeat nights I could hear and feel my heart beating. Strong and steady. The beating kept me awake, but I marveled at what God had done in my chest.

The Great Physician had replaced my worn out human valve with a pig valve. He also replaced part of a deteriorating aorta. As I listened to my heart beat I marveled at the skill of the surgeons who performed the delicate surgery. And I marveled at my God who created such a complex miracle of life in my mother’s womb.

Our God is an awesome God.

5 thoughts on “Feeling My Heart Beat

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (11-18-2014) (11-19-2014) | My Daily Musing

    • I m so grateful. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It’s kind of difficult to understand someone else’s testimony until you’ve been there yourself. I hope you’re doing better now. God bless.

      Like

  2. The old deejay in me really enjoyed seeing & hearing Rich Mullins sing “My God Is an Awesome God.” Thanks, Steve. You have a good heart!

    Like

Leave a Reply

