Silent Night

This time of year my mind often wanders back to that hillside near Bethlehem. Theshepherds hillside where three shepherds listened to an angel tell them how the history of the world was about to change and they would be witnesses. What a chorus that must have been when the heavenly host sang “Glory to God in the highest and on earth peace, good will towards men.”

When the angel and the heavenly host disappeared, I imagine the night fell silent. The shepherds must have been struck with awe at what they had just seen and heard. And they were silent. The night was silent.

I used to love winter snowfalls in my tiny little hometown of Shenandoah, Iowa. I remember so vividly waiting until the snow stopped falling. And walking outside. And standing in our front yard, listening. To the silent night. There is no more peaceful sound on earth than listening to the silence after a winter snowfall.

I can worship in that silent night. I imagine those three shepherds worshiped as well, before they departed that silent night on the hillside to follow the star.

Silence. An awesome gift for my soul, especially at this crazy time of year. I wish all of you many peaceful silent nights this season.

This entry was posted in God's love, God's Word, Jesus, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

One thought on “Silent Night

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (12-1-2014) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

