Do You Have A 3 a.m. Friend?

Who’s on your short list of real friends? I mean a friend you can call at 3 a.m. in the morning? A 3 a.m. friend is vital to our continued growth as authentic followers of Jesus.

Chip Ingram in his “True Spirituality” Bible study says all of us need at least one friend we can call on any time to talk about anything.¹

We need someone outside ourselves who can help us walk obediently with the Father.best friends Surrendered to God and His will for our lives. Someone who knows everything about us and loves us any way. Do you have a friend who is not afraid to tell you the truth and call you out when you need it?

Accountability to another authentic follower of Christ is vital if we’re going to live a life pleasing to God.

George was a wonderful accountability partner for me. He was not afraid to tell me the truth and he always did it in love. He had a kind, gentle spirit and I could call on him any time, day or night, and he was always there for me. He still is, even though we live in different states now.  We had many long talks on his back porch. Any time I needed to talk or needed the counsel of a loving brother-in-Christ, I knew I could count on George and I ironing out my life on his back porch.

My wife and I were close friends with George and his wife. In fact, when my wife and I had sharp differences of opinion, (and before they escalated) she’d say to me, “I think you better get over to George’s back porch.”  It became a respite for me and a cure for what was ailing me for my wife.

My 3 a.m. friend George has always been a blessing for me. If you don’t already have one, I highly recommend you seek one our or ask God to provide one for you.

¹Chip Ingram's True Spirituality Bible Study was the inspiration for this blog post.

Leave a Reply

