Moratorium On “What’s Wrong With America” Emails

stepping out3

At least once a day I get an email decrying the ills of America, the President, Congress, big corporations, billionaire liberals, Democrats, Republicans, Terrorists, Muslims, Christians, Catholics, Atheists, Jews TV, Joel Osteen, Madelyn Murray O’hare, and more.

Kids playing hookie from school, I believe, write most of them. They don’t include facts, and never attribution or sources for their rantings. Just wild accusations and unsubstantiated claims.

Here’s a small tidbit of an email I received today:

“Over the past several years the government has provided direct cash aid to Hamas, $351 million; Libya $1.45 billion; Russia $380 million; Pakistan $2 billion . . .and they still hate us”

Three things bother me about these emails: First, the people who read them and pass them on actually believe them. Second, they play the guilt card and tell me I’m un-American and unpatriotic if I don’t forward the junk to all the people on my mailing list. And third, they send that junk to me.

So I’m declaring a moratorium on ALL such emails. When I see one I’ll spam it in a New York minute. I won’t read one, and I certainly will never pass one along to any of my readers. Will you join me in this honorable cause. But DO NOT PASS THIS ON TO ANOTHER LIVING SOUL!

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

4 thoughts on “Moratorium On “What’s Wrong With America” Emails

  1. I agree 100% with your disgust about these biased emails that go around. I delete them as soon as I see what they are, without regard to whether I agree (rarely) or disagree (normally) with the content. I DO disagree with you on the assumption these are sent out by kids playing hookey. By far the majority of kids haven’t formed poisoned opinions yet, or even care about world news events. They’re pretty oblivious. No, these are adults with mental problems and too much time on their hands.

    Like

    • Ah, come on, Ronn, when you skipped school didn’t you sit around thinking up pranks to play on your laptop? Just kidding. I know you never skipped school. And you didn’t have a laptop. I was tongue in cheek on the kids. I was trying to imply that those who did that kind of thing (with too much time on their hands) were childish and acting like children. :>)

      Like

Leave a Reply

