Christmas Bells

A traditional sound we love at Christmas is ringing bells. From bell choirs in food courts, to malls and airports. Wherever holiday crowds gather. Traditional Christmas songs include lyrics about bells such as Silver Bells, Jingle Bells, Ring the Bells, Carol of the Bells, Jingle Bell Rock, and I heard the Bells on Christmas Day.

The Bible says bells were a part of the High Priest’s sacred garments, “Makebells pomegranates of blue, purple and scarlet yarn around the hem of the robe, with gold bells between them. The sound of the bells will be heard when he enters the Holy Place before the LORD and when he comes out, so that he will not die. ” Exodus 28:31+.

When the people outside the Temple heard the bells, they knew he was performing his duties and atoning for their sins.

Who knew the small bells sown into the hem of the high priest’s garments for the Day of Atonement would become such a beautiful and vital part of Christmas?

The sounds of the bells insured the Israelites the High Priest was making atonement for their sins in the Holy of  Holies. When we hear bells this season, let’s praise God that Jesus’ life, crucifixion and resurrection insures us that Jesus atoned for our sins forever.

This entry was posted in God, God's love, God's purpose, Jesus, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

One thought on “Christmas Bells

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (12-9-2014) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

