A Perfect Memory

Now that I’m getting older I sometimes kid with people and say, “I’ve got a good memory. It just doesn’t last very long.”

Louise Owen has a perfect memory. The New York violinist can remember everything shelouise owen did and how she felt on any given day since she was 11. Doctors attribute Owen’s extraordinary gift to a phenomenon called autobiographical memory, the ability to recall events, feelings, episodes, people and places from life. “It’s as if the things I remember happened five minutes ago, not 20 years ago,” she said.

I don’t like to admit that I used to be skeptical of preachers’ claims that the Gospel writers narratives were inerrant. Simply because so much time passed between their association with Jesus and their writings. How could they remember things that happened so many years ago? I mean, it’s hard for me to remember what I was doing last week, let alone 50 or 70 years ago.

Then I remembered what Jesus told His disciples in John 14:26,

But the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.”

And 2 Timothy 3:16a,

“All Scripture is inspired by God. . .”

As common a lot as the disciples were, when it came time to record God’s word for us, they had perfect memories. Perfect, because the Holy Spirit inspired them and reminded them of everything Jesus taught them.

We can’t all have a perfect memory like Louise Owen. But we can know everything God wants us to know if we remain obedient and sensitive to the Holy Spirit’s work in our lives.

One thought on “A Perfect Memory

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (12-12-2014) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

