Let It Go

What happens when people hurt us? letting go

A reckless driver cuts you off while you’re driving on the Interstate.
Let it go.

Your sister holds a grudge against you for a misunderstanding five years ago.
Let it go.

A friend from church betrays a confidence and ruins your friendship.
Let it go.

A co-worker who makes a costly mistake blames you for making it.
Let it go.

A manager criticizes your work ethic at a company meeting.
Let it go.

Your cousin accuses you of stealing and lying about it.
Let it go.

A Facebook friend attacks your Christian beliefs.
Let it go.

Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you. Matthew 11:11-14

 

Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy. Matthew 5:7

5 thoughts on “Let It Go

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (1-6-2015) | My Daily Musing

  2. Steven…So well said, thank you!

    My problem is that I can’t do those things. My flesh overcomes my good intentions. My intent is not to retaliate when someone attacks my work or performance, but I usually fail – in my strength.

    During those times, the only thing that works for me is moment by moment intentional dependence on God. The specific situations are different, but in general, it usually happens like the following:

    ” Lord, I am ready to punch out this backstabbing two-faced punk who is impugning my work in front of everyone. I can’t love him. I can’t even be civil to him right now, but You can! Please be my patience. Please let Your love flow through me, because I can’t do it.”

    That usually lasts for about 3 seconds and then I have to go back to God again. “Lord, I am not feeling it. I am getting angrier with each word he says about me. Please be my peace and calm. I am trusting You Lord in this moment. Thank you”

    And so it goes for me.

    Again, Steven, thanks for the good words… Ron

    Like

    • You are exactly right. ” moment by moment intentional dependence on God.” that’s the only way I’ve been able to handle those situations as well. Like you, there are times when I have to go back to God over and over again. I wish it were different. I can relate definitely. Thank you for sharing your heart. And thank you for your great comments.

      Like

Leave a Reply

