#$%Q!X(# It!

Have you noticed how often profanity is creeping into our speech these days?

What disturbs me most is hearing kids use it. And not just in angry outbursts, but inbleep normal conversations with other kids.

We hear it across many TV shows today, even in G-rated daytime family programming. Cussing is becoming acceptable. No one riles against it. Network and cable executives don’t censor it. Occasionally some shows still “bleep” out what some still consider words that cross the line; but even the worst ones sneak into earshot now and again.

In Ephesians 4:29 Paul writes,

Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.

I can’t throw stones. I’ve spouted out gutter talk. But only instances of extreme frustration. But my frustration does not excuse it. My wife is quick to point it out and admonish me. When I resort to it. I repent quickly. Because I hate swearing and hate hearing anyone swear. I once heard people cuss because they lack the vocabulary to express themselves in encouraging or positive ways.

For whatever reason, swearing is unacceptable if we (including me) are going to declare ourselves witnesses for Christ. Every time we choose a swear word over encouraging Christ-like responses it damages our testimony and our witness, even if no one but God (and especially God) is around to hear us.

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

4 thoughts on “#$%Q!X(# It!

  1. Hi Steven. Bless you for pointing this out. My wife and I cringe, whenever we hear such profanity. I refuse to use such words in my writings and every day conversations. So sad, especially when a supposedly Christian spews such utter nonsense. Good read.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amen. I’m afraid it’s getting worse and more commonly accepted among “Christians”. So sad, as you say. Thank you for sharing.

      Like

  2. Thank you for your much needed comments. I heard a new “word” for foul language last week. The word was used in comparing a previous basketball coach at IU to Dean Smith. It was said that one of the differences was, “the IU coach was bilingual.” 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

