The Well-Worn Path

Forty pounds ago I loved to hike up and around Stone Mountain, a beautiful granite wonder rising 1,600 feet above ground and sprawling nine miles underground.

I wasstone mountain 2 leading some hikers on the Cherokee Trail, a rugged five mike workout around Stone Mountain over rocks and through woods and brush. I was Mr. Hiker Pro. I’d hiked this trail before. I decided to take a shortcut off the beaten path to prove my hiking prowess.

After 20 minutes a hiker asked where we were. “We’re on track,” I told him. Twenty minutes later we passed the spot where we were standing again.

“Are we lost?” a hiker asked. Agreeing with him was painfully embarrassing. An hour later we returned to our starting point after we spotted a landmark to get our bearings.

My shortcut got us lost. Why do we try so hard to forge our own way when a well-worn path is already laid out? White arrows on trees marked the trail.

God’s path is well marked too. We can read and study God’s word, seek His heart in prayer and listen for His voice. We enjoy fellowship with other believers. Our brothers and sisters hold us accountable and walk along side us.

Why do we take shortcuts? Hiking in our own strength instead of seeking God’well-worn path?

Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” Isaiah 30:21

5 thoughts on “The Well-Worn Path

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (2-25-2015) | My Daily Musing

  2. In the 70’s and 80’s, I ran many a mile at Stone Mountain Park throwing in a hike up the mountain from time to time as well as a walk on the trail around the base … a beautiful place I have many fond memories of – thanks for sharing the story, a lesson and kindling old memories!

    Like

Leave a Reply

