A Talk With A Secular Humanist

I once read an article by a college professor who embraced secular humanism. S H symbol Her views intrigued me, so I made an appointment to meet with her. My goal was not to convert her, argue with her or invite her to church. I was interested in the “human” side of her humanism.

Secular humanists, as I understand it, believe, among other things, that human beings are capable of being ethical and moral without religion or a god.  According to Wikipedia, humanism emphasizes the responsibility facing humanity and the ethical consequences of human decisions.

Our two-hour conversation was delightful and engaging. We discussed our opposing beliefs cordially and respectfully and non-judgmentally. The way our conversation ended was a God moment. As she was putting up her things she said something I remember to this day. “Okay,” she said. “I can buy everything about Jesus except the Resurrection.”

Then God gave me my response,  “Find me a body and I’ll believe with you.”

The few seconds of pondering silence that followed was precious. I never saw or spoke with that professor again. Given that pondering silence, I sometimes wonder if God used my curiosity to plant a seed.

3 thoughts on “A Talk With A Secular Humanist

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (3-11-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

