Things Could Be Worse

I carried around two stents and a catheter in my kidneys for five days.problems Wednesday I had them removed. Those five days were the most uncomfortable, agonizing days ever.

Waiting in line to check in a man in a wheelchair next to me called attention to the bag strapped to my leg. He showed me his. I told him I’d been wearing a catheter for five days and was eager to have it removed.

He told me he’d been wearing a catheter for four-and-a-half years. They had to remove it and install another one every three months. On top of that he was also waging a battle against cancer.

My problems paled in comparison to this vet’s battles. I felt ashamed for all the griping and complaining I’d been doing about my problems.

I take myself too seriously sometimes. I wallow in self-pity and engage in trivial grumbling. I like to make insurmountable, hopeless obstacles out of petty grievances.

Wednesday knocked me down a notch. A glitch in hospital protocol caused an extra stop where I met the man in the wheelchair. God arranged that glitch and encounter to teach me something about humility. I was focused on me and my petty trial and discomfort. Not others. Not God.

Lessons from Philippians 2,

In humility consider others better than yourselves,

and . . .do not merely look to your own interests, but also to the interests of others.

and . . .Do all things without grumbling or complaining.

5 thoughts on “Things Could Be Worse

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (3-12-2015) (3-13-2015) | My Daily Musing

  2. A challenging passage of Scripture to walk by in the midst of discomfort and pain … only by the power of Christ Jesus living IN and THRU us! In some of my worst moments of pain, the Holy Spirit has challenged me to imagine the pain Jesus experienced in the midst of the crucifixion. I won’t say it lessoned my pain … but it certainly made the suffering of Christ on my behalf more real than it has ever been. Describing pain is one thing … experiencing it is all together different. Glad to hear the stents and the catheter have been removed Steven and hope all is now well!

    Bernie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Bernie, for your encouraging words. The way you made it through your trials is a testimony, as you say, to the power of the Holy Spirit living in us. Thank you for sharing. God bless.

      Like

Leave a Reply

