Cattle On A Thousand Hills

The first time I read Psalm 50, this line from verse 10, “the cattle on a thousand hills”  jumped off the page. I tried to imagine cattle on ONE hill. I grew up in rural Iowa so the image wasn’t a stretch for me. I’ve seen cattle on a hillside plenty.

But a thousand hills?  Way beyond imagination. Today in our men’s Bible study someone referred to Psalm 50 and read that verse. And I remembered it fondly.

Psalm 50 says to me, God allows and receives burnt offerings and the blood of bulls, but He doesn’t need them. He owns everything. He created everything. If He were ever hungry He wouldn’t tell us. He wouldn’t need to. God rebukes His people for forgetting Him and offering worthless sacrifices.

He ends His admonition with what pleases Him,

“He who offers a sacrificepraise of thanksgiving honors Me; And to him who orders his way aright I shall show the salvation of God.” Psalm 50:23

Our offerings of thanksgiving and praise please God.

Why not stop right now. Offer up a sacrifice of praise and thanksgiving to our Almighty God?

Leave a Reply

