My Greatest Need

My greatest need is to know my greatest need.

In both the Old and New Testaments, the Lord Himself tells us,Jesus

Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. Deuteronomy 6:5

If I’m brutally honest with myself, I don’t.

I looked up the word “all” in the dictionary.  It means all. Not “some”, not “most”, not “a lot”. It means all.

I had a moment of self awareness on the way to church Sunday.  I love some things in life more than I love God. Oh, I love God. On occasion I love God so much I weep with overwhelming joy. But He’s not the center. I want Him to be all the time, but He’s not always.

When I read Scripture the Bible seems to be saying our purpose in life is to know, love and walk with God. To glorify God and enjoy Him forever.

I want to be like David, “a man after God’s own heart.” I want to develop a holy hunger and an unquenchable thirst for God and make Him the center of everything I think and say and do and feel. That’s my greatest need.

3 thoughts on “My Greatest Need

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (4-20-2015) (4-21-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

