Real Pearls

pearlsA little girl saved up her allowance and bought a cheap plastic pearl necklace. She wore it all the time. Slept in it. Would not take it off.

One night her dad came to her room and asked her to give him her pearls. “You can have my favorite toy, Daddy, but you can’t have my pearls.”

The next night he came to her room and asked her to give him her pearls. “You can have my best doll, Daddy, but you can’t have my pearls.”

On the third night he came to her room again and asked her to give him her pearls. “Okay, Daddy, you can have my pearls.” When she handed them over, her dad pulled a small, fashionably wrapped box from his pocket. “Open it,” he said.

The little girl opened the box and stared at a shiny strand of real pearls.  “What are these, Daddy?” she asked.

“Those are real pearls just for you.” He said.

“Why are you giving me these now?” she asked.

“I’ve been waiting for you to give me your imitation pearl necklace, so I could give you  real pearls.”

Aren’t we like that little girl sometimes? Don’t we sell God short sometimes? Make short-sighted decisions from our own resources, rather than wait for God to show us His best? Cling to our own quick fix rather than trust God to make things right His way in His time? Settle for plastic imitations instead of God’s real pearls?

2 thoughts on “Real Pearls

Leave a Reply

