Should We Worry About ISIS?

leaning on JesusWe may not have to worry about ISIS invading us or attacking us. If history repeats itself (as is well documented) the United States will implode. We’ll take ourselves out from the inside. It’s happened before to well-developed nations and civilizations.

Arnold Toynbee, a noted British historian, studied the great empires as far back as Mesopotamia, Egypt, Assyria and others. What his study revealed was that well-developed civilizations and empires followed seven similar stages, or ages.

If you know much American history, If you look at the stages, I’ll bet you can figure where we’ve been, where we are and where we may be headed.

1. The age of exploration (or pioneers).
2. The age of conquests.
3. The age of commerce.
4. The age of affluence.
5. The age of intellect.
6. The age of decadence.
7. The age of apathy, decline and collapse.

Each stage helps progression to the next as the values of the people change over time. Military, political, economic and religious developments all influence an empire’s people to act and believe differently over time.

So, where, as a society, do you think we are, according to Toynbee’s classifications?

I don’t worry about something like that happening. God is teaching me not to dwell on ISIS or things that COULD happen. God is teaching me to lean more and more on Him for my serenity and security. The more I trust Him and abide in Him, the safer I will be.

Do not fear for I am with you;

Do not anxiously look about you,
for I am your God.
I will strengthen you, surely I will help you,
Surely I will uphold you with my
righteous right hand.  Isaiah 41:10

2 thoughts on “Should We Worry About ISIS?

Leave a Reply

