My “Eat To Live” Regimen Begins Today

me mugshotsHere I am. At my heaviest weight ever: 238 pounds. Today, July 1, I begin my Eat To Live program. Based on Dr. Joel Fuhrman’s best selling book, Eat To Live. A friend recommended the book to me after he read it and lost more than 50 pounds in less than six months, and has kept it off.

It is not a diet book. The tag line says, “The Amazing Nutrient-Rich Program For Fast And Sustained Weight Loss.”  My friend confirms that Dr. Fuhrman’s program helps folks transition to  eating foods rich in nutrients as a high percentage of the calorie count.

I’m still reading the book, but I’ve read enough to get me started doing some of the things  I need to do to change my eating habits. I decided to write about my Eat To Live journey to help me remain devoted to my goals and  committed to my plan. I’ll be sharing tidbits from the book occasionally I think you might enjoy reading.

Here are my main goals:

  1. Lose 49 pounds
  2. Walk or jog at least 30 minutes five days each week
  3. Walk around Stone Mountain (five miles) on July 30.
  4. Walk up Stone Mountain on August 21.

Editor’s Note: I actually started warming up last week. Walking and eating some of the healthy ways from the book. I chose today to kick off the plan because July 1st sounds more romantic than June 22nd, don’t you think?

This entry was posted in Eat To Live and tagged , , , , by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

7 thoughts on “My “Eat To Live” Regimen Begins Today

  1. So, interesting that you wrote about this today…..my blog post today was about me starting the Autoimmune Paleo diet. I’ve been seriously working on my health and wellness for a little over a year now—-but having an autoimmune disease makes it extra hard work! I’m happy that you are taking control of your health…..here’s to us! May this year ahead be happy and healthy:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I ride a bike and it has been a blessing in bringing my weight down and my heart healthy. Biking is better for your joints than a walk or a jog. Just accomplished my June goal of 300 mile plus 77 additional miles for my age. I also use the app, LOSE IT.
    Dave

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Dave. Sounds great. I’m going to look up that app too. I am using one now called Runkeeper. Hey, let’s stay in touch to see how we do. God bless. I’ll pray for you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

