Complaining Season

complainingTis the season for complaining. Two recent Supreme Court decisions lit the fuse for attacks and complaints from those who opposed the decisions. Politicians, rather than campaign on their credentials, spend most of their time complaining about their opponents. Conservatives complain about liberals and liberals complain about conservatives. Talk show hosts make millions complaining about current affairs.

Meanwhile, our nation grows more polarized. Very little good seems to happen as a result. We’ve become a nation of shouters, unwilling to compromise, unwilling to hear or respect opposing views, much less engage them.

Complaining is all about us. Conviction is all about God. The Israelites spent 40 years in the wilderness because they wouldn’t stop complaining.

Paul says,

Do everything without grumbling or complaining, so that you may become blameless and pure, “children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation.”
Philippians 2:14-15

It’s been my experience that complaining people are unhappy people. They don’t know much joy in their lives.

Studies have shown that complaining people are not as healthy as positive, encouraging people. God wants us to stop complaining and start encouraging others. Finding something positive in all circumstances.

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

6 thoughts on “Complaining Season

Leave a Reply

