Yogurt And God

Many of you may remember reading my post about my new eating regimen. A dear friend at church put me onto a book called Eat To Live by Dr. Joel Fuhrman. My friend lost more than 60 pounds in less than six months. I’ve lost 16 since July 1.

I eat yogurt every day now, but only the kind with active, live cultures. I researched active, live cultures. My research led me to be amazed again at how awesome our God is.

Two of the active, live cultures in my yogurt are Lactobacillus bulgaricus and Streptococcus thermophilus. They are good bacteria called probiotics that help us regulate proper intestinal functions and digestion for us.

lactobacillus bulgaricusHere’s an amazing thing to me. To be healthy beneficial yogurt, each gram of yogurt must contain 100 million (100,000,000) of these little guys. A gram of yogurt is about one teaspoon. If that doesn’t amaze you, consider this . . .

Whether it’s fitting 100 million microorganisms into a teaspoon of yogurt,sugar and space or speaking a universe into existence so massive that a satellite can take a picture of Earth from 3.7 Trillion miles away, you have to marvel at the power and majesty and creativity of our Almighty God.

This entry was posted in Eat To Live, God and tagged , , , , , by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

4 thoughts on “Yogurt And God

    • Josh, thanks for asking. Yes, there’s a bunch of Yogurt brands out there. The brand is not important. Healthy yogurt must contain “Active Live Cultures”. If the yogurt doesn’t contain active, live cultures, you might as well eat ice cream or donuts. The two probiotics most common, but not always on the label, are Lactobacillus bulgaricus and Streptococcus thermophilus. Some yogurts display a label from the National Yogurt Association certifying that the brand of yogurt contains active live cultures.

      Like

Leave a Reply

