What Is It?

We say and do everything for something.what we say
What is it?
We go to church for something.
We read our Bible for something.
We volunteer for something.
We tithe for something.
We pray for something.
We live for something.
We play for something.
We eat for something.
We cry for something.
Do you know what you do this stuff for?

I’ve been wrestling with all that this week after our pastor challenged us in his message.. I’m asking myself, “What’s my motivation for going to church, reading my Bible,  playing, praying, living.” I’ve come to the conclusion that I do what I do either for my good, or for God’s glory. 1 Corinthians 10:31 says,

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.

Colossians 3:10 says,

And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

I would tremble if I saw an account of all the things I’ve said or done either for my good or for God’s glory. I’m afraid the list would be embarrassingly skewed.

6 thoughts on “What Is It?

  1. The usual answer to your question is “self”, meaning that we put our “self” on the throne of our lives rather than God. This has always been the tendency of human beings since the initial decision of Adam and Eve to disobey God’s command in the garden. And it is a persistent temptation to seek to implement one’s “self” will rather than to “obey” God’s will for what we do and how we conduct our lives. I’m sure that you understand this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Bob, great comments. And yes, I understand, however getting and maintaining that awesome intimacy with God is a challenge.

      Like

    • Gary, thank you for your comment. Please don’t hesitate to call my attention to mistakes you see in my blog posts. I appreciate your taking the time to point it out. I am committed to making sure everything I write is true and accurate. Thank you and God bless.

      Like

  2. I was challenged this past Sunday as well. We will be starting a series on Getting Ready. We want the expectation of Christ’s return to shape what we do and how we live. We want to be ready.
    Maranatha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Hoosierdags That sounds like an awesome series. Getting ready for His return is paramount in our walk, in my opinion. I’ll be interested to hear updates as you all go through the series.

      Like

Leave a Reply

