The Wrong Shoes

wrong shoesWhen I was heaviest, it was difficult to bend over to tie my shoes.  Tennis shoes, shorts and tee shirts are my standard Summer wardrobe. I struggled so much I bought some penny loafers so I wouldn’t have to tie my shoes. I could just slip them on.

Of course they were the wrong shoes.
I looked like a total nerd in my penny loafers, white socks and shorts.

We can be on the right road in life and wear the wrong shoes as well. Paul teaches us in Ephesians 6 that our feet should be shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace. If we’re walking through life wearing the wrong shoes, we won’t be able to navigate through the pitfalls.

Our road will be littered with the debris of war, like an unexpected bill, an accident, sudden illness, financial woes, job loss, a wayward child and so on. If we have the peace of God in our hearts, we can stand firm against the trials and persecution the world throws in our path. We will be prepared to take the peace of God with us in any situation and bring peace to every room, meeting, confrontation, family problem, job interview and more.

With God’s peace in our hearts we will be prepared to meet any challenge, face any trial, stand against any persecution with calm assurance.

What shoes are you wearing today?

This entry was posted in A Personal Relationship With God, attitude, God, Grace / Mercy, Peace, peace of God, The Gospel, Truth by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

4 thoughts on “The Wrong Shoes

  1. That was great! Loved your analogy. Just a note in Ephesians 6: Before “having shod your feet in preparation…” (vs. 15), I love verse 14 introduction: “Stand therefore [hold your ground]…” Wouldn’t it be terrible to be STANDING in a briar patch…barefooted?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, worddetective. Amen
      to verse 14 as well. Standing firm, as you say, “hold your ground”. We have to if we want to do battle with the enemy. God bless.

      Like

    • Josh, I’m so sorry. I remember writing about it, I just forgot to send it. I’ve learned in my research that the only yogurt good for us contains “live, active cultures.” Can you send me your email and I will include some label samples and some more information about yogurt I discovered. My email is stevesaw@gmail.com. Please include “Yogurt” in your subject line. Thanks, and again I’m sorry it’s taken so long.

      Like

Leave a Reply

