Clara and Grandson Saved; Clinging To Cross

claraClara Gantt left her daughter’s house before dawn Sunday morning near Blythewood, South Carolina. She was driving to church near Inmo. In the dark and pouring rain she could not see flood waters that washed across the road. “I knew there was water out there,” she said, “but I didn’t know it was going to stall me.” She called her family but by the time they arrived the raging waters capsized her car.

Clara’s grandson, Travis Catchings, came with a deer harness to try to save her. But the flood waters flipped them over and they washed off the road and into a flooded church yard. Travis pulled his grandmother out of the car. The only thing to cling to was a big red cross near them. Clara and her grandson clung to the cross in the flood waters for five hours until rescuers arrived to pull the pair to safety.

Isn’t that what Christ wants us to do? When the waters wash over us, when we have nothing or no one else, when life seems fleeting, Jesus pleads with us to cling to Him and Him alone and hold on for life.

“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
I have called you by name; you are Mine!
“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
And through the rivers, they will not overflow you. Isaiah 43:1-2

What a beautiful testimony to our Savior’s lifesaving blood. It’s just like the cross Clara and her grandson clung to for five hours. When flood waters rage around us, we can always cling to the Cross of Christ. He will rescue us from the raging waters that engulf us.

Jesus, thank you for your cross. Thank you for dying on the cross so we can cling to it when flood waters seem to overtake us. You will save us. You will protect us. Help us always remember that our lives are always in your blood stained hands. Amen.

This entry was posted in Almighty God, God alone, reaching out, rescuing and tagged , , by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

5 thoughts on “Clara and Grandson Saved; Clinging To Cross

Leave a Reply

