Chinks

Editor’s Note: I published this post late Friday, too late for most readers, so I thought I’d re-publish it again today. Hope that’s okay. Enjoy.

I was backing down my driveway on my way to work one day and noticed the expansionchink joint nearest the street was damp in one small spot. When I got home from work the entire expansion joint (those dividers that allow the concrete to expand without ruining the driveway) was wet.

The next morning a whole section of driveway was wet thanks to a two-inch spout of water bubbling up where the driveway met the street.

Long story short–to fix it, a county road crew tore up my driveway and half my yard. They had to replace a 15-foot section of pipe ten feet below ground.  When they got to the pipe they showed me the chink that caused the trouble — a barely visible hairline fracture in the pipe.  That tiny chink seeped water for days and saturated the ground above it all the way to my driveway.

Are we like that sometimes? Chinks in our armor can be dangerous, even deadly.

Ephesians 4:27 tells us, “do not give Satan a foothold.” In other words don’t give Satan a chance to take advantage of those areas where we might be vulnerable.

A chink is a potentially fatal vulnerability or flaw in a protection system.

If Satan finds a vulnerability or flaw in us, he’ll do whatever it takes to gain a foothold. Once he gets his foot in the door, over time pressure builds. If we don’t do something to fix the chink Satan will attack it, expose it, and use it to destroy our witness He’ll use the chink to force a wedge in our relationship to God, seeking to destroy us. Before you know it, the evil stench is bubbling down our driveways and we’ve got major sin and disobedience to deal with.

The only chink fix I know is Jesus. When chinks allow Satan to get a foothold, I need to immerse myself in His word, study it, memorize it, dwell on it. I need to be obedient to His word, pray and trust that God will fix the chink.

Leave a Reply

