Learning To Ask

When I was young and smart and knew it all I rarely asked anyone for help. After all, I had two college degrees. I was blessed with a plentiful supply of common sense. “I can figure things out for myself,” I told myself.

Part of my reluctance to ask for help, I admit, was the “guy thing”.   I learned that from my buddies and from my dad and the “guys” in his circles. Unless it was bulky like a refrigerator or a chest of drawers, asking for help showed weakness and a lack of ingenuity and drive, they told me. I had to be “strong and resourceful” and figure things out for myself.

As I grew into manhood and husband-hood and fatherhood and worker-hood, I madeask some of the worst decisions of my life, figuring things out for myself. It wasn’t until I was desperate and in crisis mode that I would ask God for help. Oswald Chambers says it this way, “We will long and desire and crave and suffer, but not until we are at the extreme limit will we ask.”

Throughout scripture God encourages us to ask Him to intervene.

Jesus says in Luke,

For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened. Luke 11:10.

And in James, God tells us,

If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. James 1:5

Why don’t I ask God first? Why don’t you? The answer, at least for me, is simple. I don’t trust God fully and completely. I’m not totally surrendered to Him. That’s what sanctification is about. God will chip away at this tough exterior of mine, and of yours, until we learn how trustworthy our Almighty God is.

This entry was posted in Almighty God, choices, Jesus, sanctification and tagged , , , , , , by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

Leave a Reply

