A Whopper of an Aroma

whopperA friend of mine was telling me this week how a Burger King restaurant hijacked his car and steered it right into the parking lot. “I wasn’t even hungry,” he said. “But the aroma of those Whoppers enticed my senses and I had to have one. I could taste it from my car. It smelled so good I pulled in and ordered a Whopper. It was one of the best-tasting sandwiches I’ve had in a long time.”

How do we smell to other people? Do we have a whopper of an aroma that attracts people to us? Do people we don’t know sense something different about us when we encounter them? Do people sometimes say, “There’s something different about you and I like it”?

For we are to God the pleasing aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing.

Kindness is a fruit of the Spirit living inside us. If we are walking with God are we kind to people even though our circumstances might be crushing us? Do we go out of our way to be a sweet aroma to those who don’t particularly like us, or we don’t particularly like them? Do we get so preoccupied with our to-do lists that we miss glaring opportunities to be a whopper of an aroma to someone in need?

The aroma of a Whopper in Burger King attracted my friend and drew him in. Are we as compelling and attracting to other people as a Whopper was to my friend?

One thought on “A Whopper of an Aroma

Leave a Reply

