Christmas With The Pitners

pitnersGrowing up I was fortunate to have two sets of grandparents living nearby. I have fond memories of our family get-togethers at Christmas time. Grandma and Grandpa Pitner were both kind and gentle folks who lived a simple life. They lived in Essex, Iowa, just north of my Shenandoah, Iowa home towm.

Grandma and Grandpa Pitner had six children, my mom being the youngest. Christmas was a special time for Grandma and Grandpa Pitner. Many memorable Christmases, my aunts and uncles and seven cousins from three states would meet us at the Ptners. My Uncle Ralph would hitch a few sleds to the rear bumper on his car and let us take turns sledding around town on the snowy streets.

Grandma and Grandpa Pitner were not rich. Each Christmas they gave each of us cousins a new shiny silver dollar wrapped in a colorful box. We always accepted their gift with smiles and grateful hears. They gave us those silver dollars with as much love and joy as my other grandparents, who lavished my brother and I with more toys than we could play with in a year.

Grandma Pitner made the sweetest fudge in Southwest Iowa. My cousins and I always looked forward to helping her do quality control tasting. We would have eaten her whole pan if she had let us.

I don’t know about you, but for me Christmas time is memory time. Not just memories from the past year, but fond childhood memories like the wonderful times we had with my Grandpa and Grandma Pitner and how much we loved them.

This entry was posted in Friendship, God, Relationship, Serving others, showing love and tagged , , , , by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

Leave a Reply

