Define Christmas In One Word

If someone asked you to define Christmas in one word, what would you say?starThe 10,000 foot view of Christmas, to me, is God providing the only way for you and me to be reconciled to God. To love God. To have an intimate relationship with Him. To enjoy fellowship with our heavenly Father.

2 Corinthians 5:19 says,

God was reconciling the world to Himself in Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation.

At this Christmas season I am making an attempt to reconcile relationships with two men with whom I’m at odds. I am writing them both detailed emails asking both of them if we can sit down eye-to-eye, mano y mano, and reconcile our differences.  They may both turn me down, or refuse to answer my pleas. I can live with their choices, because I made the effort.

But since we have been given the ministry of reconciliation, and since God’s purpose for giving us Christ as our Savior and Redeemer, in my opinion, is to reconcile us to Himself, I thought this is an appropriate time of year to reconcile two friendships that have been special to me for years.

Do you have fences to mend? Do you have a friend or relative with whom you’re at odds? Christ’s came to earth to reconcile you and me to Himself. Let me challenge you today to pray about making the effort to reconcile a lost friendship. Be the one to do something to heal a relationship. Reach out. Take that step towards healing. Think what a gift that could be to you and the other person. Even if we’re rejected or ignored. Make the effort.

I asked a pastor friend about a major disagreement I was having with my wife. “Who should be the first one to apologize,” I asked him. “The one who is bigger,” he answered.

,

.

2 thoughts on “Define Christmas In One Word

  1. Thanks for your great answer in one word. I read this quote recently: “Christ’s purpose for coming to our world was not to activate a world-famous celebration but to accomplish a world-transforming cause.” I’m praying for reconciliation so that the two men you reference will be set free. Thanks for forgiving forward and desiring to reconcile.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

