How about THESE rules?

A visitor to Steve McVey’s church handed him a brochure from her church andmcvey invited him to visit. They titled their brochure: “Biblical Standards For Christians”. The brochure claimed scripture support for all their “standards”. Here are a few:

  • No dancing or mixed bathing
  • Do not wear jewelry
  • Do not wear makeup
  • Men must wear their hair short
  • Do not go to ball games, rodeos, circuses, rodeos, bowling alleys, skating rinks or theaters
  • Do not dye your hair
  • Women are to wear “modest clothes with moderate colors and moderate prices with decent dress lengths, sleeve lengths and necklines.” ¹

Many Christians might say such rules are absurd. They aren’t to the folks who embrace them. These rules beg the question: what set of rules do you follow? Some may say, “Oh, I try to live by what the Bible says.”

Will living by any set of rules achieve God’s best for us? I don’t think so. Ourr lives are not built on a set of rules. Don’t we live our lives in Jesus Christ and our relationship with Him? Everything else about us is supposed to flow out of that relationship.

¹Grace Amazing; by Steve McVey; © 2001, by Steve McVey; Harvest House Publishers; page 128

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

2 thoughts on “How about THESE rules?

Leave a Reply

