I love the “Groaners”

One thing I inherited from my dad is a well-developed sense of humor. I love to laugh and make other folks laugh (which I often do, especially at church).

Growing up as an adult child of an alcoholic, I used my humor in my role as the mascot in our dysfunctional family. I was often able to diffuse an otherwise toxic situation with a joke or funny one-liner.

I’ve been delivered from that role for many years. But I’ve developed a keen sense for spotting golden opportunities to inject humor, playful sarcasm and self-deprecation to make others laugh. My favorite form of humor is the “groaner”– those lines that, instead of raising guffaws, bring groans at how outrageous my humor.

So today, let’s just laugh a bit.  Here are some of my favorite lexophiles (plays on words by lovers of words).

Enjoy.

  • The geology professor discovered that her theory of earthquakes was on shaky ground
  • Did you hear about the guy who stole a calendar? He got 12 months.
  • The Sears store gave away dead batteries free of charge.
  • I wondered why the baseball was getting bigger and bigger. Then it hit me.
  • A boiled egg is hard to beat.
  • Writing with a broken pencil is pointless.
  • The guy who fell into the upholstery machine is fully recovered.
  • A will is a dead giveaway.
  • Bakers exchange bread recipes on a knead to know basis.

Come on. Be honest now. Did you laugh a little? Chuckle a bit? Okay, so did you at least smile once or twice?

 

 

 

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

2 thoughts on “I love the “Groaners”

Leave a Reply

