The Prodigal Son’s Father

Many of us are familiar with the story of the Prodigal Son in Luke 15. I’m sure many of us can identify with the son and his reprobate life only to realize at the bottom of his barrel that he would be better off at home.

I spent some time this week thinking about the Prodigal Son’s Father and His response to his wayward son’s return.

In the past I’ve been guilty of thinking of God as a massive, omniscient cloud out there in the universe somewhere, hovering over us, listening to us and making judgments about our behavior. He blesses us at times. But other times He ignores our pleas for forgiveness or mercy or wisdom or intervention.

But that’s not my God. My God can only give love. An unconditional love I can’t fathom. A love that says to me, “Steve, my child, there’s nothing you could ever do or say that would make me love you any less, or any more, than I always have. Since you were a microscopic X chromosome in Alice Gail’s womb.”

My God is a real person, who laughs and cries and creates and sustains and works in me daily. He convicts me when I stray and points me back to Him. He waited for me all those years I was wandering around in my prodigal wilderness. He sat on His front porch and looked down the road for me. Then when He saw me headed home HE RAN TO ME, EMBRACED ME AND WELCOMED ME BACK INTO HIS LOVING ARMS.

He didn’t scold me, punish me, reject me or ask me where I’d been. He didn’t ask me how I spent all His money.  He just loved me.  Because that’s the kind of God my God is.

And He loves me still. As He will until He calls me home to be with Him forever!

WOW! What an awesome God we serve!!!

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

Leave a Reply

