When some of us (not we all) get to heaven

A recent Pew Research survey revealed that 70% of Americans who claim a “religious” affiliation say there are many paths that lead to heaven (meaning, I guess, that a bunch of religions with a bunch of beliefs can all wind up in heaven some day.) and one is no different or more special than another.

“Enter through the narrow gate,” Jesus said. “for the gate is wide and the way is broad that leads to destruction, and there are many who enter trough it. For the gate is small and THE WAY IS NARROW that leads to life, and there are FEW who find it.” Matthew 7:13-14.

Most religions seem to want to be reconciled to God, but they teach reconciliation happens by doing works and performing rituals. Christianity is the only religion that teaches our only path to eternal life is through faith in the person of Jesus Christ.

Jesus made it very clear.

“I am the way, the truth and the life,” He said. “NO ONE comes to the Father except through me.”   John 14:6.

Jesus uses a basic principle of logic to teach us that the only way to eternal life is through Him.  The law of non contradiction says two contradictory statements can not both be true at the same time and in the same sense.

So either Jesus is being truthful when He says He’s the only path to eternal life, or the folks who say there are many paths to eternal life are telling the truth.

Both paths to eternal life can not be true at the same time an in the same manner.

Which path are you on?

Portions of the book, Unshakable Foundations, by Pete Bocchino and Norman Geisler, was the inspiration for this blog post.

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

Leave a Reply

