Dominion

What do you have “dominion” over? We’ve had responsibility for having dominion since Genesis. When God created Adam and Eve He gave them marching orders that were pretty clear,

“And God blessed them, and God said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth, and subdue it: and have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over every living thing that moveth upon the earth.”
Genesis 1:28 KJV.

Multiply. Replenish. Subdue. Have dominion. Over EVERY living thing. The word “dominion” is a primitive root of the word “master” or “owner”.  A life totally surrendered to God’s control allows us mastery over our lives, regardless of our circumstances.

How?  By being meek. In the Sermon on the Mount Jesus tells his disciples and the hundreds on the hillside that day,

Blessed are the meek for they shall inherit the earth.  Matthew 5:2.

Now was that just something nice to say as Jesus rattled off the beatitudes? Did He mean what He said? Those who are meek will be blessed? And they will what? Inherit the earth?

Many of us, including me, as we read over the beatitudes have probably glazed over that one. Gave it a quick read, then went on through the list. Maybe like we do the Ten Commandments. But I’m going to park there for a day or so and look closer at meekness. Let’s see what it might mean in our lives in a culture that considers meekness and weakness to be synonyms. In fact, in the lives of authentic followers of Jesus, they are polar opposites.

.

This entry was posted in God by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

Leave a Reply

