Meekness: A Fruit Of The Spirit

Can we think of meekness as power? Our culture certainly wouldn’t agree with that. In fact, as I see it, our culture regards meekness as negative. I think they’d rather promote self esteem rather than the power we can manifest through the power of Jesus dwelling in us.

Jesus urges us in Matthew 11:29-30 to,

Come unto me, all ye that labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you REST. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I AM MEEK and lowly in heart: and YE SHALL FIND REST for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” KJV

Jesus’s meekness is the model for our meekness. Because His meekness gives us rest. Not sleep rest. But total dependence on Him rest. The Sabbath rest the writer of Hebrews talks about. The Sabbath Rest God inaugurated on the seventh day of creation.  In Hebrew, the root word for meek means “to be bowed down“. The root word in the Greek means, “mild, gentle and soft“.

But getting to that rest, becoming meek does not happen easily. You can’t just get up one morning and tell ourselves, “I think I’ll be meek today”. It doesn’t work that way. We’ll never be meek in and of ourselves.

Meekness only manifests itself in our lives as Jesus manifests His life in and through ours. Meekness is a fruit of the Spirit we read in Galatians 5:22-23. We can’t live in the flesh and allow the Spirit to work in us at the same time.

Walking in the Spirit is a daily, sometimes hourly, pursuit. At least it is for me. Our spirit is constantly at war with our flesh for control of our thoughts and our actions.

To arrive at the Sabbath rest, to manifest meekness in our lives, we not only need to be bowed low to Jesus in total surrender and dependence. Meekness means we choose to be mild, gentle and soft to all those we encounter every day. Even to those who betray us, lie to us, insult us or hurt us. EVERYone.

Leave a Reply

