Spit before you dig

If you’re ever buried in an avalanche skiing experts tell us the best way to dig your way out is to spit before you dig. Time magazine reported a skier who got buried under tons of snow died when he tried to dig his way out. When rescuers discovered his body he was 30 feet below where he got trapped.

Skiers buried in the snow often get disoriented. Experts say to dig a small hole in the snow and spit. If the spit falls in your face, the way to dig is above you. If it doesn’t, you’re facing the wrong way.

I know that feeling.

I’m not a skier, so I won’t be buried in an avalanche any time soon. But I do know how it feels to be headed in the wrong direction. More times than I care to admit I’ve headed down a path guided by my self-centered, head-strong free will. Wrong decisions. Impulsive responses. I often succumb to an avalanche of the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes and the pride of life (1 John 2:16).

Too often it takes a long time to dig my way out and start heading in the right direction again. It is only by God’s grace, and choosing to listen to God’s voice, that I can dig my way out.

Whether you turn to the right or to the left, (when you dig a hole you can’t get out of–my paraphrase) your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” Isaiah 30:21

Leave a Reply

