Have you ever mumbled to yourself and said. . .

. . .I never should have said that to her!

. . .what a stupid thing to do!

. . .I knew better than that.

. . .Nice move, Genius.

. . .I’ll never be able to fix this.

. . .I need to start praying more and reading the Bible more.

. . .I had a perfect chance to share the Gospel with my neighbor and I blew it.

. . .I blew it.

. . .I knew I should have _________________.

. . .I really made a fool out of myself this time.

Where does that stuff come from? Certainly not from God. Not from within ourselvessatan whispers either. Satan whispers that venom in our ears so we’ll criticize and condemn ourselves for our sins, our errors in judgment and our mistakes. He loves to provoke us so we tear ourselves down.

God doesn’t do that. God is love. All He can do is love us. He doesn’t get mad at us. In His loving kindness He shows us the way to follow Him; then leaves the choice to us.

Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you saying, ‘This is the way. Walk in it.’  Isaiah 30:21 NIV

It’s not a shout. Not a scolding. I believe The Holy Spirit speaks to us in a still small voice. I believe it’s the same still small voice Elijah heard when God spoke to him when Elijah stood in the mouth of that cave in a cave in 1 Kings 19.  He didn’t hear God’s voice in the wind. Or the earthquake. Or the fire. Elijah heard God’s voice in a still small voice. My Bible calls it a “gentle whisper“.

Romans 8:1 says,

“There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus” (that’s us).

When we hear Satan hurl those self-deprecating thoughts and ideas our way, we can choose to flee from them. We can remember that we are precious, accepted and loved children of the Creator of the Universe and take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ. We are free from Satan’s condemning hatred forever!

Leave a Reply

