Spiritual Gravity

Gravity. It’s the law. It is the force exerted by large objects that draws smaller objects toward it. Earth’s weight and mass draw the moon towards the center of earth. The earth draws everything towards its center.

Spiritual Gravity

Just walking around we expose ourselves to spiritual gravity. That force of the world pulls us towards earthly stuff. Pulls us down. Hampers us from seeking heaven. Eternal stuff that really matters.

If we’re not careful, prolonged exposure to spiritual gravity can suck us into a black hole of sin and discouragement and apathy. Once we fall into that hole, we’ll struggle to escape.

Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world—the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life—is not of the Father but is of the world. And the world is passing away, and the lust of it; but he who does the will of God abides forever. 1 John 2:15-17 (NKJV)

“Set your minds set on things above (higher, eternal things), not on the things on the earth.” Colossians 3:2 (NKJV)

Nothing lasts in the world. It’s temporal. It fades, dies, passes away, spoils or rots, Everything of the world pulls us towards it and away from God. It’s a constant battle to keep our minds and our hearts open to the things of heaven, looking up, not looking down.

So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.  2 Corinthians 4:18 (NIV)

This entry was posted in Biblical Principals, God, God's Sovereignty, God's Will, Life, Truth and tagged , , , , , by Steven Sawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Sawyer

God blessed me with the gift of writing. Mom told me I wrote paragraphs in second grade when others were learning to write sentences. I spent more than three decades in professional writing gigs. For the past eight years I've combined my passion for writing with my love for the Lord. He and I write a Christ-centered, family-friendly blog to glorify God Monday-thru Friday at https://stevensawyer.wordpress.com/. My wife and I have four grown children and two precious granddaughters we co-parent with their mom. I'm a Galatians 2:20 disciple of Christ seeking to allow Christ to live His life in me, through me, and as me.

5 thoughts on “Spiritual Gravity

  1. Pingback: Spiritual Gravity | Daily Bread

  2. We have perfect freedom and safety as long as we live in the law of gravity. It is only when we step outside the law of gravity that we step into danger.

    We have perfect freedom and safety as long as we live in God’s laws. It is only when we step outside of His laws that we step into danger.

    Friendship with the world is enmity with God.
    When we align with the world, we step outside.

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is beautiful! A great comment. I’m going to use your comment in my blue light special at the top of my welcome page next week. Thank you so much.

      Like

  3. Awesome awesome blog tonight Steve!! This is definitely one of my favorites. I am in the midst of a trial and this ministered to my Spirit right where I am at this very moment. God is taking me through a refiners fire. I covet your prayers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

